St. Mary’s College, Oscott

Sonata a Cinque in G Minor Albinoni
Adagio – Allegro – Grave – Allegro

Concerto For 4 Violins in E Minor – Albinoni
Andante – Allegro Assai – Adagio – Allegro
Soloists: Michael Williamson – Tim Bugg – Clive Letchford – Eddie Jones

Aria: Alto Giove (from Acis e Galatea) – Porpora
Baritone: Clive Letchford

Concerto For Oboe in B Flat – Albinoni
Allegro – Adagio – Allegro
Oboe: Sue Cannan

Concerto in D from Armonico Tributo – Muffat
Grave – Allegro e Presto – Allemanda – Grave – Gavotta – Grave – Menuet.
Soloists: Michael Williamson – Clive Letchford


Concerto in G Minor – Vivaldi
Allegro Molto – Andante Molto -Allegro Molto

Trio Sonata in D Minor – Loeillet
Largo – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro
Soloists: Sue Cannan – Eddie Jones – Ruth Elkan – Sheila Koch

Aria: Oh Ruddier Than The Cherry (from Acis and Galatea) – Handel
Baritone: Clive Letchford

Concerto Op. 6 No. 4 in D – Corelli
Adagio – Allegro – Adagio – Vivace – Allegro
Soloists: Clive Letchford – Eddie Jones

Oakthorpe Methodist Church

Dances from Phaeton – Lully
Suite for Recorder – Telemann
Teneri fanciuletto from La Gloria e Imeneo – Vivaldi
Sonata no 5 in e – Muffat
Dance par les Sauvages from Les Indes Galantes – Rameau
Suite for Viola – Telemann
Concerto for Oboe d’Amour – Graun
Arrival of the Queen of Sheba – Handel

with soloists Susan Cannan (oboe and recorder), Peter Rose (viola) and Clive Letchford (voice)

music for an 18th Century Christmas with carols for the audience

It was a real privilege to be at the concert on Saturday night. A great mix of wonderful playing and great singing. It was a very special evening. Thank you. Carolyn
It was great. Please pass on my thanks to all. While everyone contributed I’d single out the male vocalist for extra special praise. Paul

Overture to Messiah

Recitative – Comfort Ye,
Aria – Ev’ry Valley

solo – Clive Letchford


solo – Tim Bugg & Michael Williamson

While Shepherds Watched 

Christmas Concerto

solo – Michael Williamson & Tim Bugg

The Holly And The Ivy

Concerto Pastorale 

Pastorale – Aria Presto- Aria Grave – Aria Pastorale-Adagio –
Minuet & Trio
solo – Michael Williamson & Clive Letchford

Arise And Hail This Joyful Day


Carol: O Little Town Of Bethlehem  

Noels Pour Les Instruments

O Createur – Laissez Paistre Vos Bestes – Vous Qui Desirez Sans Fin

Carol: The Boar’s Head

Ich Will Dir Zu Ehren Leben
from Christmas Oratorio
solo – Clive Letchford

Concerto Fato Per La Notte Di Natale 

solo – Eddie Jones & Clive Letchford

The Sussex Carol

The Coventry Carol
The First Nowell

The Full English

Concerto Grosso No. 6 in D                  John Alcock                   Lichfield
Tempo ordinario – Allegro Assai –
Grazioso – Allegro 

Where’er you walk from Semele
Tune your harps from Esther                    George Frideric Handel   London
voice: Clive Letchford

Courtship a la mode                              William Croft                 Ettington
Overture – Aire 1 – Aire 2 – Round O – 
Hornpipe – Round O Scotch

Concerto Grosso No. 3 in E                   Capel Bond                   Coventry
Adagio – Allegro


Overture to Circe                                  William Hayes                Oxford

Oboe concerto No. 2 in Bb                   George Frideric Handel   London
Adagio – Allegro – Largo – Vivace
oboe: Sue Cannan

Grant me gentle love                             Barnabas Gunn              Birmingham
Forte e lieto from Tamerlano                      George Frideric Handel   London
voice: Clive Letchford

Concerto grosso No. 1 in D                   Rev. Richard Mudge       Bedworth
Vivace – Allegro – Larghetto Andante 

Candlelit Christmas Concert with Carols

Agrippina George Frideric Handel (1685 -1759)

Carol: O Little Town of Bethlehem
Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 4 in D Arcangelo Corelli (1653 – 1713)
Solo violins: Tim Bugg & Eddie Jones

Carol: Rejoice and Be Merry

Gavottes I & II from Suite No. 3 in D J. S. Bach (1685 – 1750)

Sinfonia from Cantata No. 156 J. S. Bach
Solo oboe: Sue Cannan

Carol: The First Nowell


Concerto for Oboe & Violin in C minor J. S. Bach last movement: Allegro
Soloists: Sue Cannan & Michael Williamson

Carol: While Shepherds Watched

Bethlehem Down (instrumental version) Peter Warlock (1894 – 1930)
arr. P. Martin

Carol: While Shepherds were Feeding their Flocks in the Fields

Gigue from Suite No. 3 in D J. S. Bach

Carol: The Holly and The Ivy

Noël Suisse from Sinfonia No. 5 Michel Corrette (1707 – 1795)

Carols: O Come All Ye Faithful
We Wish You a Merry Christmas


Director – Michael Williamson

Guest Conductor – Eddie Jones

Violins: Michael Williamson, Tim Bugg, Eddie Jones, Sue Mock, Monika Walton,

John Walton, Jean Howard, Dorothy Wardropper, Maura Barnett, Roy Ashby

Violas: Peter Rose, Caroline Powell-Brett

Cello: Jacqui Robertson-Wade, Mary Mohan

Violone: Nick Hyde

Keyboard: Sheila Koch

Sincere thanks to:

David Wintle and the church of St. Leonard’s

for hosting this concert and providing the refreshments